In a Box

 

I don’t know how I would feel in this place. I would probably look at the window from time to time but would be disappointed because there is nothing there particular interesting. There is the huge parking lot filled with many cars and that is it.

Could I be in the pizza place all by myself? I am not sure. I have never done that. If I had a laptop it would be probably a different story but I don’t have a laptop.

Actually, I am a very simple person. I don’t have iPhone either. I have an emergency cell phone. And that is enough for me. I know, know in our digital age it’s like being an extinguished dinosaur but I don’t care.

What I care about is that I can reach my husband on my cell phone, of course his cell phone is never turned on. He prefers an old fashioned home phone. And I also.

I don’t have Kindle or Nook and I can’t imagine not reading a real book, holding it in my hands, turning pages and feeling it.

Anyway, I took these two pictures staring shamelessly at these people through the window. Luckily, they didn’t notice me. And then I forgot about them for a few months. Today I decided to post them.

16 thoughts on “In a Box

  1. I have an iphone and I tell my kids all the time how much I hate it. I feel like it’s a giant ball and chain, I mean after all what if the world blows up and they can’t call me??
    The older man looks to be engaged in a conversation, while the younger one, go figure on his phone. I feel as if people aren’t as interesting to photograph any more because well they’re always on their phones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nora, I would probably struggle with all the features iphone has and I would hate myself:) The only thing I miss about iphone is taking pictures. I missed so many interesting moments.

      And you are right people are always on their phones. Sometimes I think that makes them so lonely.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to take a lot of photos with my phone, but I started to notice I was getting caught in that instant feel if you know what I mean? I was missing out on the feeling, the art of what I was even photographing. I also noticed instead of being in the moment I was too busy snapping away on my phone.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Nora, I know what you are talking about. I know this feeling being in the moment and trying to stop it the way you see it or imagine. I am getting some helpful and interesting insight from you. And happy about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s all I use too. A cell phone to use for emergencies. It’s never turned on. If anyone wants to call me they must use my land line. But I do wish all the stupid calls from India wanting to fix my PC would stop. I have a MAC.
    But they are wonderful photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Needhamb, that is so good to know that I am not alone. I get plenty of annoying calls from sales people on my home phone. Before I was very polite and answered every stupid call but right now I just say something quick and that’s it. And I got a few calls from India with a promise to fix my computer when it was perfectly OK

      Liked by 1 person

    • I got a few calls like “THIS IS YOUR FINAL WARNING” from make believe IRS. I am sure some people answer these warnings otherwise they would not continue to do this.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Olechka, people are so obsessed with phones nowadays. I feel like a dinosaur myself :)) But neither of us is really a dinosaur 🙂
    I do have a Kindle and I love it dearly, because I love reading in Russian and such books are so rare in our country and also it helps me to learn English better as has a built-in dictionary. Am I justifying myself? 🙂
    You know, my dear, if not the digital world we would never have met.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anechka, I was thinking about you.

      Oh, I understand why you love Kindle. In many ways it’s wonderful. I didn’t know that Kindle has a built-in dictionary. It’s probably easy to use; you don’t need to turn page after page to find a word you are looking for. I am beginning to think differently about Kindle but not ready to have it yet.

      And that is so true that we met because of the digital world!!!

      Like

  4. Miguel, después de mirar tu poderosa serie de documentales todo lo que hago parece tan insignificante y no fuerte. A veces las fotografías tienen un gran impacto en nosotros. Y eso es exactamente lo que me pasó. Necesito un cambio…

    Un cálido abrazo a mi amigo.

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos Kaya! We ate a restaurant recently that was built around two railroad cars. From our table, we had a view much like the one in your photos. I do have a smart phone, but I have texting disabled and rarely talk on it. I mostly use it for GPS, and a few other Apps. We no longer have a land line phone. I use a Kindle frequently to read. At first I felt the same way as you about holding a book in my hand, but it didn’t last very long. I’ve found that if I’m engrossed in a book, I’m not even aware of the fact that I’m not reading from an actual “book.” I’ve been trying to simplify my life and downsize my footprint. Books take up too much room. I still love them though and can’t say that I never buy any, because I do. Great post!

    Like

    • Pat, it’s so nice to hear from you! Thank you very much for your comment. I liked what you wrote about Kindle and how you feel about it. For a few seconds I thought perhaps I should give up on the real books but then I have changed my mind. Yes, books take too much room, especially if you fly for several hours and want to read.

      Thank you again for stopping by. I wish you all the best, Pat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

