Advice to Myself

Why do we need  someone’s opinion or advice? I believe for a very simple reason – to see what we are doing from a completely different angle, not being too emotional about our problems, failures and mistakes. And most important  being able to distant ourselves from ourselves in order to see more clearly.

In these series Advice to Myself I am going to do exactly what I wanted to do for a long time – to distant myself from myself and look at some of my problems more clearly. I also hope that it may help someone. If that happens I would be happy.

The best advice about photography – I am going to talk a lot about it – I got it from David Duchemin, a fantastic photographer. I have never met him but I read his book 60 Lessons for stronger photographs a few years ago.

His advice was straight forward; if you’re serious about your craft and your art, then consider getting off the online forums as fast as you can. Why? Because you would listen to voices who would not be helpful, who may even hurt and discourage you from what you are doing.

I left recently Flickr. I left it for many reasons, one of them that I lost inspiration.

There are a lot of talented photographers on Flickr and there are photographers like me who don’t have much talent and opportunities and who try hard to do what they like to do. I found myself in a minority. That is not bad but it’s not  good either.

Being in a minority makes you feel insecure about what  you are doing. Thus, one day on Flickr I have a few new followers and another some people unfollow me. I used to wonder what is going on and then I stopped to wonder. I became quiet cynical about followers, about the numbers of favorites and the comments. I also became insecure about my own photography. I stopped to like what I was doing.

I think that the online social forums and the places like Flickr and Instagram in some ways are killing our creativity. They make us feel very insecure.

I like the advice which I am going to give myself today. It came from Eric Kim:

If people start unfollowing you, you are doing something right.

And I would love to add – something innovating.

 

14 thoughts on “Advice to Myself

  1. There is nothing wrong with being or feeling as part of a minority and most talented people are. “Truth always rests with the minority, and the minority is always stronger than the majority, because the minority is generally formed by those who really have an opinion, while the strength of a majority is illusory, formed by the gangs who have no opinion — and who, therefore, in the next instant (when it is evident that the minority is the stronger) assume its opinion… while truth again reverts to a new minority.” (S. Kierkegaard)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alex, thank you very, very much for your comment. I like the point that the minority is always stronger than the majority. I never thought this way before and these words made me feel much better.

      Like

  2. My darling, I have been telling my new friend about just a few seconds ago and then wanted to hear your “voice” and here it is.
    Do you remember we have been talking about followers recently? A couple of people unfollowed my blog a few days ago. It felt like completely nothing for me. I understand that my blog and your profile are completely different. You are posting your photographs and I am writing different things, but the thing that matters really is your own voice about yourself never intermingled with somebody elses’s voice and if I may say so, the people who are next to you.
    Do things that inspire you! You are so precious that anytime I think about you my heart melts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anechka, I probably will try to stay as much as I can from the places like Flickr and Instagram. I would feel much better. I liked a lot what you said about our own voice. It’s so easy sometimes to loose it and I hope it will never happen to me.

      Thank you very, very much for your comment. And for your wonderful friendship.

      A warm hug.

      Like

  3. Todos en alguna ocasión nos hemos sentido inseguros en éste u otros terrenos. Yo mismo sigo caminando a tientas entre diferentes estilos y modos de fotografiar, es normal.
    Lo importante, lo único importante, es que lo que hace le guste a usted. Los demás no importan. Lo único importante es la satisfacción que usted obtiene cuando, como en este caso, observa un paisaje, advierte la diferencia y el contraste entre la zona nevada y la zona del fondo, sin nieve, busca el encuadre resaltando esa diagonal que separa ambas zonas y advierte la suavidad misteriosa que la niebla otorga a ese bosquecillo del fondo.
    Cuando usted y sólo usted ve el resultado y disfruta de su trabajo el objetivo está conseguido. ¿Qué importa si a otros les gusta o no?
    Pero, lo cierto es que a mi sí me gusta y, como yo, seguro que hay centenares de personas que también captan la belleza de esta fotografía.
    Un fuerte abrazo, amiga Kaya

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miguel, muchas gracias, muchas gracias por su comentario. Sí, estoy de acuerdo con usted en que es lo más importante que debe gustar lo que está haciendo y el resto no importa. Lo pensé mucho. Encontraste amables palabras, mi amigo.

    Mis mejores deseos para ti, Miguel.

    Like

  5. Exactly how I feel. I was given advice that o need to get with it, jump into the social media digital world if I want to get anywhere. All it did was mess my head up to be honest. I lost a lot of confidence from people imho who aren’t even artists. I wish I never ventured into that world. Thankfully though I see I’m not alone!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nora, yesterday I found your blog and I am so glad that it happened. First, I looked at your photos and I liked very much what I saw. Very much!!! And then I began to read what you wrote and it took me by surprise that someone felt the same. It was a huge relief that I am not alone.

      Thank you very much for stopping by and writing this comment. I feel right now much better:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I guess you can understand how relieve I am to know I AM NOT ALONE. Sometimes I felt like I was crazy. Thank you for you compliment as well! Glad you found me and I look forward to following you as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with what you said, right up until you said, “there are photographers like me who don’t have much talent and opportunities and who try hard to do what they like to do.” I totally disagree with that statement. Kaya, you are an amazing photographer! In fact, you are one of my absolute favorites. Too many people think photography is all about techniques, settings, and rules. At it’s core, photography is about NONE of those things. It’s about what YOU feel about what you are looking at, and trying to convey what YOU feel into the scene you capture with your camera. It’s also about having a good eye for finding these things, and the ability to capture a moment in time that people can feel, understand, and relate to. You are already a master at these things, so don’t sell yourself short my friend…

    Like

Leave a Reply

