A Year to Remember

bwboy033
 

When I am at the computer editing pictures or writing I always look at the cover of a little calendar on my desk. On its cover in golden beautiful letters is written a promise – A Year to Remember.

Thus 2016 was a very creative year for me. I got into street photography. That was a year when I first heard about a photographer William Eggleston who became my greatest inspiration.

I remember that his photographs shocked me at the beginning. They were just snap shots of many different things. I looked at them over and over again and I couldn’t understand why he became so well known as the street photographer and so famous. Yes, the colors on his photographs were incredibly beautiful but otherwise I didn’t see something special. What I didn’t understand was that I was looking at real life in Eggleston’s pictures and real life isn’t easy to photograph. To make ordinary things look extraordinary is also not an easy task. William Eggleston was capturing the ordinary, the ugly, the boring and transformed it into the most interesting.

I dare to say that I have one thing in common with Eggleston. I also live in the most boring place in the world but I can learn from this unique photographer to see my place differently. With an open heart and eyes.

Last summer I went a few times per week on the streets and took a lot of pictures. Some were not so good but I didn’t care. I was practicing to see creatively.
 

one0901
 
2017 started pretty good. I tried to learn how to photograph in snow and rain. I even got from Amazon a rain coat for my camera. It’s a little bit oversized and awkward but I will use to it.

And I began to write in English. I never done it before. Something about this blog that gives me a freedom to write not being afraid that someone would notice that my writing sometimes doesn’t flow well. I suspect that nobody reads what I write and that is what makes me more brave.

There is no short cuts in life and there is no short cuts in photography but I truly believe that if you are perseverant and didn’t loose your passion you are on a right path.

2 thoughts on “A Year to Remember

  1. You didn’t just “get into” Street Photography, You leaped in with both feet and haven’t looked back.
    Your street photos are amazing and these two photos are good examples. You have such a great eye Kaya, and you can’t teach that. You either have it or you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pat, it’s so nice to hear from you. Thank you very much for your kind words. I am so pleased to know that you like my pictures. It means a lot to me.

    Warm best wishes to you, Pat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

